a tragedy in Orlando

flag-1184117_1920.jpg

Just a week ago a great tragedy happened. Some lunatic massacred 49 people in a gay club in Orlando. I wanted to write about this for a while, but I just couldn’t find the words. I write this piece in anger and disbelief.

Some fool killed 49 people in the name of a religion. I can’t grasp that someone thinks he can kill in the name of a religion. A religion stands for love and peace. How can a religion stand for hate? That is not what any religion is preaching for. The Islam, Christianity, Judaism and all the other beliefs preach for peace and love and the people that think otherwise just don’t get it.

The other thing is I just can’t believe that you can hate something so much that you want to kill it. They were celebrating everything the lgbtq+ community stands for, love and being yourself. This attack was intended to bring fear and I am scared that it is going to bring fear, but it shouldn’t. It should unite us to say no to hate and all the tragedy that it brings. Hate is no reason to kill, hate is no reason to do anything.

I just got home when I read the news on my phone and I burst out in tears. I live in the Netherlands which is located more than seven thousand kilometres (4349 miles) away from Orlando. That is a long way away, but this attack felt close. It was an attack on a community I am part of a community that I love to be a part of.

My heart goes out to all the deceased and their families and friends.

I write this piece in homage to the great people we lost.

One thought on “a tragedy in Orlando

  1. Pingback: Why are we killing? | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

