Hello, it’s your future

I once saw a video about somebody writing a letter to his older self and for some reason this made me think. Because it’s possible to write a letter to your older self. You can tell that person much about the person they  were years ago. You can make your future you remember things she’s already forgotten and make them relive those moments.

And while an idea like this is amazing, the first thing I thought about is the other option. Writing your younger self a letter. Because that isn’t possible. And eventhough there are some times we would wish for it, time travel doesn’t exist yet and we can’t rewrite history. But dream for a moment…. If it was possible, what would you tell yourself.

When I started thinking about this, I really didn’t know what I would do. I guess I would tell her to do certain things differently, to make different decisions, to watch out for certain people and certain moments . I would tell her to be less unsure about herself and to do what she loves, no matter what other people tell her.

But would that really change anything. While warning somebody about certain moments would change things, could the same be said by a simple message about things life self-confidence? I don’t know if you would really listen to those words because while they may have been said by an older you, they are still just words and you’ve probably heard them before.

And I also don’t know if it would be a smart idea to do this. Because while changing things could work out perfectly, it could also ruin it and I don’t know if I would want to take that risk.

I really don’t know the answer to that question but the idea of writer younger me a letter still seems interesting to me. And even if I can’t ever do it, I still like to wonder about it. Would I do it, and even if I did, what would I say.

Leave a Reply

