The Greatest ….

What’s your greatest fear? If you were to stand in front of a boggart, (shape-shifting non-being that takes on the form of the viewer’s worst fear.) what would you see. Maybe this question is an easy one for some people, but when I try to discover what my greatest fear is, I honestly don’t know. I guess you could think of predictable things like drowning or fire or something a little deeper like a fear of losing the ones you love most or dying but I don’t know…

Because I am scared of things like that. I would honestly die before I’d let one of my friends get hurt and I would hate to die soon, but I still don’t think those are the things I fear the most. I guess I also fear fear itself. Because it’s something that paralyzes you. It can make you unable to do certain things or make you do different things. But even something like that doesn’t sound completely right to me.

And that’s not the only ‘deep’ question I wouldn’t know my answer of. Because if I’m asked about something  like my deepest regret or biggest dream, I’d have to think really long and hard as well.

I guess some part of it is because the question is about your biggest fear, regret or dream. Because that can be hard to know sometimes. There are enough things I can think of when people ask questions like this without the word “biggest”, but when that word is added, the question suddenly gets a lot harder to answer.

Having to find the greatest or biggest something is really hard. It’s deciding what has the most power over you, what touched you deepest or what takes up most of your time and a question like that can be hard to answer sometimes.

And I don’t think that’s wrong. You shouldn’t have to know the exact answer to these questions.  I know some of my fears and most importantly I know some of my dreams and to me, that’s enough for now.  I’ll face my greatest challenges or fears when they’ll find themselves on my path and untill then, I’ll just live my life without the exact knowledge.

Leave a Reply

