The way we treat ‘them’

So I guess I must confess, sometimes I just don’t know what to write. And then I start to listen to music, read my old posts, read other posts, look at quotes and sometimes I even start to read a book. And so here I was one night, at the time I probably shouldn’t mention because normal people are asleep, reading.

Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire to be exact. And I know what you’re thinking right now… Harry Potter, really? How is that going to help you write something. But to me it’s something so very special, the feeling of drifting into another world. But while I was reading I came across this one quote “If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” And I just can’t help but agree. Because people will always treat the people they think equal or even above them good. They will want to be their friend, have their respect, or at least be acknowledged by them in a good way. So they won’t show their worst sides to those people.

But if you really want to know if somebody’s is worth the time you have to look at they way he treats his ‘inferiors’, even if I have a desperate hate for that word. Because when do you really place somebody in the category ‘inferior’. What makes somebody worth less than you? Their brain, their empathy, the chances they got? I don’t know… But even if the idealistic part of me wants to say there are no ‘better’ people and inferiors I know that a lot of people and also society do view the world that way.

So back to the point. How people treat people they categorize as less than them. Do they give them less respect, do they look down on them or do they refer to them like they’re human as well, capable of so much. I sincerely hope it’s the last one because that will at least give me some hope for humanity. Because if you look at it, people will start to act like the thing that’s expected of them.

Let me explain. If everybody you know looked at you in a certain way, like they knew you were going to accomplish a certain amount of things and nothing more, would you even wanna try? And sure there are people who would try, who would want to prove ‘them’ wrong but there is also a big group who would conform to what’s expected of them. And I don’t think that’s okay.

We should try to help people strive for more, not put them down because they have less, or have accomplished less. Do it for yourself, so you can look in the mirror at the end of the day but do it for them as well.

Leave a Reply

