“Dance Like Nobody’s Watching”

Is it wrong that I don’t mind it when people are a little crazy? And I know that can sound weird but let me explain. When I’m in a conversation with some of my friends the sentence “You’re insane/you’re crazy” is said a lot, and that’s something I like. Sometimes you just have to say or do things that may seem a little weird to the general population. When you really want to do something, you should do it, even if it isn’t perceived as completely normal.

Because normal can be so ordinary, or even boring. In the Netherlands we have this saying that roughly translates to “act normal, then you’ll act crazy enough” and I don’t completely agree. Why should we be pressured to act normal, why can’t we just act the way we want to. And no, I cannot explain the exact definition of normal but the general subject I’m going for is that we just have to act the way we want to, not a certain way just because we’ll otherwise be perceived as weird.

Because to me that should matter. Even though I care a lot about the opinions of others, as I’ve stated in previous blogs I still don’t think that I should have to do this. I want to live my life the way I want to. So if I get the urge to start playbacking in the middle of the street like an idiot, I’m going to do it. Not because other people say it’s acceptable, but because I want it to be and I enjoy doing it.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is, just live. Do what you want to do, when you want to do it (at least if it doesn’t truly hurt somebody). Live your life the way you feel like living it. “Dance like nobody’s watching” and enjoy yourself while you are doing it.

Leave a Reply

