When hard work just isn’t enough, just fail.

For the first time in my life, I live on my own. I got an internship in a different city so I moved there for a while. I have been living here for a month now and I have to say that it has been a learning experience.
I spend all my weekends at my parents and this week was no other, but when I came back to my own place I found that my fridge wasn’t fully closed. Anyone who has slightly more live experience knows what happens. My fridge felt like it was Christmas and made his inside a winter wonderland, there were snow and ice everywhere.

bucket of ice
The snow from my fridge

 

It was a really irritating job to clean, but it wasn’t like I was mad it myself for doing this. It was a stupid mistake and easily preventable, but I this is a one time mistake. This won’t happen again.

We all make mistakes and we all have to deal with them. Mistakes are so irritating because it means that you have to do better, but mistakes are unavoidable and even necessary. You have to make mistake to learn from.
When you start at something and even when you want to master something you make mistakes and you can one of two things with them, you can become irritated and ignore them or you can learn from them. Of course, the learning one is so much better.
I don’t say this is an easy thing to do, it is a really hard thing to do. When you want to learn from your mistakes you first have to accept that you made one and for a lot of people including me that is a very hard thing to actually do.
A lot of the time I just say that it was somebody else his mistake, I did nothing wrong or I say that it was the tools I was working with and that I was not doing anything wrong and so I go stubborn on making mistakes.
I got better at facing mistakes over time and now I can change most of mine stubborn trying again with something new and not giving up.

There is this quote from Stephen McCranie that helps me a lot when I just can’t seem to stop making mistakes;
“The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried.”
I have to keep on learning if I want to get better, I have to keep failing if I want to learn and I have to keep failing to close the fridge if I want to master.

Leave a Reply

