Getting to work

So today I’m starting my first day at my new job. And I honestly got to say that I’m kind of nervous. Now, don’t get me wrong, some of that is also excitement, but there is still some part of me that’s like “aaaah, am I going to be good enough”

You see I haven’t really had a job before this one. I always had enough money from just babysitting and by having the allowance my parents gave me. But I do think the time is right for me to really get to work. I’m going to college now after all and I want to start earning my own money. I’m in a stage of my life where I have to really grow up and start making my own smart life decisions. That also includes taking care of yourself financially and with that comes a job.

Because in the past I’ve kind of procrastinated the idea of getting a job. I always said I’d do it next month or in my vacation but that attitude is just not going to work. As I said before, when you want some thing you’ve got to work for it and to do that you’ve got to start, even though that might be difficult. So that’s what I’m doing right now.

And no, by saying that I want to grow up and become more of an adult financially don’t mean that I’ve got to earn all the money I need in life right now because let’s be honest, that’s probably too high of a goal but I do want to earn some of it. And by saying that I want to be more adult and doing that by getting a job I’m not saying that’s all there is to growing up. Because ofcourse, there’s a lot more, but for me it’s still a step I’m taking in the good direction and I’ve got to say that I’m pretty happy about that.

So here we are I guess. I’m literally sitting in the bus on my way to work while writing this and in about half an hour I’ve got to start working. I guess all I sort of wanted to say with this post is that you sometimes just got to take that first step when you want to achieve. It may seem scary and you’ll maybe want to procrastinate it but the way I feel about it is that when you do it, you’ll feel a lot better about yourself.

Leave a Reply

